The 2014 Corvette Defiance is the overall winner at the car show. local news

A 2014 Chevrolet Corvette was the overall winner at the Maumee Valley Car Club’s annual car show on Saturday in the Downtown Defense.

The show had 154 entries compared to last year, but still offered different models and contestants with different stories to tell (see related story).

The “Best of Show” winner – a red Corvette – is owned by Don Beam of Toledo. He scored 140 points overall in the deciding contest, ousting Dave Mason of Delta, who had entered the 1936 Plymouth Coupe.

While Mason’s entry also scored 140 points, he had won one of six special awards—the Fire Chief’s award—before the Best Show winner was announced, which broke the tie in Beam’s favor.

A 1934 Chevrolet Standard car recorded by John Berry of Defense challenged for “best of show” with 136 points, while a 2007 Corvette belonging to Nick Zervas of Slovenia came in with 135 points.

A team of judges assessed the field to create awards in more than 20 categories, while several winners were selected for special awards in addition to “Best Show”.

For example, Mayor Mike McCann chose the winner of the Mayor’s Award, while Police Chief Todd Schaefer selected a winner, as did Fire Chief Bill Wilkins, who himself entered a 1979 Corvette on the show.

All have been judges on previous shows.

McCann explained, “Usually in mayor’s picks I look for something that appeals to my eyes, which is what I love for older cars.” “And of course I see the owner of the car to be a disobedient resident or to live somewhere nearby.”

Wilkins said he also favors an older car in selecting the winner of Fire Chief, taking a closer look at a vehicle with “some new paint on it; just what comes out”.

Awards in which the judges made their choice from across the region:

• Chief of Police – Delbert Densmore, Defiance, 1969 Chevrolet Corvair.

• Fire Chief – Dave Mason, Delta, 1936 Plymouth Coupe.

• Conquer Childhood Cancer Now – Steve Perry, Defiance, 1969 Ford Mustang.

• Dharamsala – Travis Okule, Continental, 1969 Chevrolet Camaro.

• Veteran – Don Kraber, 1967 Pontiac Grand Prix.

• Meyer – Bob and Sally Dunlop, 1955 Chevrolet Sedan Delivery.

The winners were also chosen to obtain the most points in each of their respective categories (provided they did not win any of the above awards). The winners were:

• Dick Bonin, Defiance, 1900-49 Stock, 1948 Chevrolet Fleetline Aero Sedan.

• Ed Young, Defense, 1950-59 Stock, 1953 Ford Customline.

• Roger Schatz, Defiance, 1960-69 Stock, 1965 Chevrolet Impala Convertible, 1960-69 Stock. (It was the third largest category with 12 entries.)

• Don Heilman, 1970-79 Stock, 1975 Oldsmobile 98. (It was tied as the largest category with 13 entries.)

• Jim and Nancy Schatz, Defiance, 1980-99 Stock, 1989 Chevrolet Corvette.

• John Crowner, Defiance, 2000-09 Stock, 2007 Ford Mustang.

• Talon Stuart, Dundee, Mitch and Tabitha Branham, Payne, 2010-2019, 2016 Dodge Hellcat and 2015 Dodge Challenger, respectively.

• John Berry, Defiance, 1900-49 Revised, 1934 Chevrolet Standard.

• Tom Kavanaugh, 1950-59 Revised, 1957 Chevrolet Two-Door Wagon.

• Kim and Kay Griffith, Defiance, 1960-69 Revised, 1968 Chevrolet Camaro. (It was tied as the largest category with 13 entries.)

• Brent Damon, Napoleon, 1970–79 Revised, 1971 Oldsmobile Cutlass.

• Steve Kosik, Toledo, 1980-99 Revised, 1991 Chevrolet Corvette.

• Nick Zervus, Sylvania, 2000-09 Revised, 2007 Chevrolet Corvette.

• Kendra Kessler, Defiance, 2010-19 Revised, 2014 Chevrolet Super Sport.

• Beth Hartley, Defiance, current modified, 2020 Jeep Wrangler.

• Ron and Brenda Wheeler, Defiance, Custom Street Rod, 1936 Ford Cabriolet.

• Joe Hefner, Paulding, Rat Rods, 1965 Chevrolet C-10.

• Robert Cramer, Paulding, truck-modified, 1947 Chevrolet 3100.

• Mike Simon, Defiance, Special Interest, 1984 Cushman Van.

• Nathan Lord, Perrysburg, Youngblood (25 years and under), 2020 Ford Mustang.

• Doug and Barb Bohs, and Ella and Eddie Geren, Foreign Cars, respectively 1968 Triumph TR250 and 1970 Volkswagen Bus.

• David Smith, Toledo, Motorcycle, 1998 Harley Davidson Super Glide.

Money generated from the show’s entry fee and sponsorship allows MVCC to be donated to Conker Childhood Cancer Now & Hospice. MVCC has also donated to those charities in the past.

Nonton dan Sinopsis Kingdom: Ashin of the North Season 3

Leave a Comment